Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Announces 2019 Nominees

  • by

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has announced its “Class of 2019” nominee roster. And the nominees are:

  • Def Leppard (eligible since 2005)
  • Devo (eligible since 2003)
  • Janet Jackson (eligible since 2007)
  • John Prine (eligible since 1996)
  • Kraftwerk (eligible since 1995)
  • LL Cool J (eligible since 2009)
  • MC5 (eligible since 1991)
  • Radiohead (eligible since 2017)
  • Rage Against the Machine (eligible since 2017)
  • Roxy Music (eligible since 1997)
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan (eligible since 1999)
  • Stevie Nicks (eligible since 2006)
  • The Cure (eligible since 2004)
  • The Zombies (eligible since 1989)
  • Todd Rundgren (eligible since 1995)

Some should get in fully based on their influence on modern rock (Kraftwerk, the Cure, MC5, Radiohead); some should get in because they’re just damn fine artists (Roxy Music, the Zombies, Todd Rundgren). Others, though, will get in solely on their popularity (Def Leppard, Stevie Nicks). That’s not to say they don’t deserve it; after all, it is the Hall of FAME. Some, of course, are griping about the omissions of other artists – Sheryl Crow, Outkast, Usher, Judas Priest and Depeche Mode.

I am voting for the Cure every day, also tossing some votes to Radiohead and the Zombies. Who do I think will make it? Nicks, Def Leppard, Radiohead, Janet Jackson – with the Cure having an outside chance. The rest may have to wait another year.

Inductees will be announced in December. The fans do get a say, so visit through December 9 to cast your votes. And be sure to add the Cure. :)

Share this: